Chinese writing over 8,000 years old

Kind of kills the ‘young Earth’ idea in the barrel. I have always understood Young Earth Creationism had the ‘conception’ of the Earth at some 6,000 years old – at any rate between 6 and 10 thousand.

Chinese writing over 8,000 years old

It also makes one wonder why would God want to create these ‘heathens’ and give them a more sophisticated civilisation 6,000 years before the birth of Christ.

Will history teachers be forced to ‘teach the controversy’ about Chinese history, too?

4 Responses

  1. At the risk of sounding contrary, how does anyone know how old this writing is?

  2. Now that you ask, I would not know for sure. I imagine they would use a combination of writing trends, geology, carbon dating… I’m not very well founded in the science of dating so I wouldn’t know.

    Rest assured someone more knowledgeable than I will be able to provide a satisfactory answer to your question.

  3. Well, why the hell not? There WAS a world before Jesus was born and all the people weren’t believers of a One God.

    I am dissapointed in the article though…not a lot of info in there…

  4. I know! I was underwhelmed by the coverage. Shame…

Leave a Reply

