Back in Black – It’s been a long time, babe

A long while ago, I decided to pull the plug on the GoR, anticipating a lack of time required to honour the learnèd readership of the blog.

Noticing that comments still kept flowing in, and noticing I had severe blogging withdrawal symptoms, I’ve decided to look into perhaps restarting the Gospel of Reason. I’ve found I have the hunger and the time to keep on writing, so I hope my words will not fall on empty ears – even if they do, I intend to keep on writing. It feels really good! What can I say.

It’s been a fairly long time, so I suppose it would be beneficial to make a fresh start. I stand to reiterate the following goals:

  1. Science in face of rhetoric
  2. Logic in face of emotion
  3. Honesty in face of manipulation
  4. Beauty in knowledge in face of fear in ignorance

This blog is run by a scientific atheist who finds Truth through evidence and through natural beauty. These are all themes I’ll touch upon in the future, including how they relate to current events.

There’s a market for talking about reason and science because of late, these two bastions of civilisation are under attack. We need to take it unto ourselves to defend from a position of elevated tranquility the two safeguards of our way of life from the onslaught of superstition and dogma.

Notwithstanding, I am also a Libertarian, and as such, although I may disagree with someone’s opinion, I will defend to the death their right to say it. I set out resolutely convinced I will not try to convince anyone of my opinions. If someone finds an argument set out here convincing, then so be it, and all the better. I have an open mind and will examine contrary arguments with all the cold blooded criticism and scepticism which which I regard my own arguments (and change them, were it to be necessary in light of new evidence).

So in the spirit of free discourse and in the aim to expound the virtues of reason and science while at the same time blowing off some intellectual steam (others might call it intellectual masturbation), I invite you to stay at the Gospel of Reason for a while, and to enjoy the discourse that inevitably appears.

Good day.

5 Responses

  1. Welcome back.

  2. WOW that felt good. Studies show blogging helps junkies wean off smack.

  3. God told me you’d come back.

    Just kidding.

  4. Woo-hoo! I’m so glad you decided to keep it going. I really enjoy your writing.

  5. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

